Uncategorized

If I had not been born… not loved…never lost…

If I had not been born…

I would never have been nurtured by my mother’s breast and tenderness
I would never have known my father’s laughter and strong embrace
I would not have been thrilled by the sunset nor laughed in the rushing waves
I would not have felt the joy of dance and heard inspiration or praise
I would not have explored underwater and swum with sea creatures so closely
I would not have curled my feet over grass and sand and felt bliss so completely

If I had not loved…

I would never have known the simple joy of seeing someone each day
I would never have seen the beauty of the sunrise which promises another shared day
I would never have tried to understand and know someone else so deeply
I could never have allowed myself to give and take so completely
I could never have believed the magic and mystery that I hear in love stories and songs
I could never have known the pleasures and gifts that one cannot experience alone

If I had not lost…

I could never have felt the pain and suffering another soul endures
I could never have known the broken dreams which for a time felt so sure
I would never have known that healing comes to those who can let go
I would never have believed that someday love can come again and grow
I could never have known that we find sanctuary in the most unexpected places
I would never have known that in our darkest hours we find redemption in God’s surprises

2 thoughts on “If I had not been born… not loved…never lost…”

  1. i could only be silent after reading this
    just like breathing in the wind of ancient time
    where the petals of sampaguita and cadena de amor
    bloom like a poetry , dance like tinikling.

    let me praise the womb that bore you
    the breast that nurtured you
    let me praise further
    the people who midwifed your rebirth
    the love everlasting, the hope ever unbending

  2. Thank you, taobathala…

    Alice Walker said, “the excitement of writing…has always sustained ,my passion to survive what I’ve come to know… At the time of writing, I remember agonizing over my right to speak every step of the way, then going on anyhow.”

    You and Alice inspire me to write… for myself and for others…

Leave a Reply

