Uncategorized

If I Were a Tree…

If I were a tree…
I’d sway and bend my boughs so the wind can blow around and through me… Shed my leaves and grow anew, let the flowers and fruits bud forth for seeing and tasting…
I’d reach towards the sky, feel the warmth of the sun… Be drenched by the rain, be wooed by the moon and bathe in the joy of being…
I’d reach down with my roots to the earth beneath, be nourished by the spirits and history that precedes me. And know that I am part of creating…

If I were created to be a butterfly…
For a moment I would find comfort in the embrace of my cocoon, and find music in the silence of the shelter it gives…
At just the right time, when I want to seek the light and warmth that beckons outside, I will struggle to be free of that which binds me…
In a moment that is mine, I will defy gravity, flap my wings with all my might and fly and flutter over flowers that allure me… I’d drink of their nectar and pick their pollen so that nature can continue its birthing…

If I were a wolf…
I’d run in the wild, find my territory and still explore the vast plains beyond it…I’d howl at the moon and hide from the sun and distinguish the scents the winds bring to me….
I’d seek to discover new creatures that I meet and tread carefully when I see viciousness and those who would chain me… I’d drown in the water or burn in the flames than let someone deny me the freedom to run wild and be truly free…
I know the seasons and cycles. I guard the rhythms and the mystery of the wilderness and it’s creatures… While I can be untamed and dangerous, I will die to defend the sacred, the soul and life’s secrets…

Leave a Reply

